Sweet Stuff

Browned Butter Dark Chocolate Strawberry Blondies

Turns out I am pretty crummy at this whole blogging thing.  (Get it… crummy?)  But, after much encouragement from my sister and a few others, I’m back at it.

Hmm, so now what?  What’s new? Oodles of new things happening here.  I bought a house, took in a new furry roommate named Argos. I left my full-time job to pursue other personal and professional interests, which was a terrifying but incredibly exciting move.  I’m teaching myself calligraphy, which is going pretty well.  I am dating again, which isn’t going so well.  I went to Austin, and managed to come home without eating a single taco (whaaaat?!?! I know. I’m disappointed in myself, too), then to California where I had a few glasses of wine. I have killed all of my houseplants, and finally just bought a fake cactus at Target.  It was on sale.

So, things are pretty good.

I hadn’t spent much time in the kitchen until recently.  After a few too many nights eating animal crackers, string cheese, and cheap wine for dinner, I decided it was time to reconnect with the space of my tiny kitchen, and with the creation of food I love so much.  So, I have a slew of new recipes to share (and a few funny dating stories, if you’re interested.)

One final nibble… It’s never just about the food, you know–what it’s made of, how it’s prepared, how it tastes.  Sure, all of that stuff is important, because we don’t want crappy food made out of crappy ingredients and poorly prepared.  But even the good stuff is only really good if it is shared.

So, please, resist the urge to make these blondies and keep them all for yourself.  Just kidding.  They are really good.  You might not want to share.

Browned Butter Dark Chocolate Strawberry Blondies

Makes 9-12 bars depending upon how generous you want to be.

Strawberry Blondies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 oz. dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup hulled and halved strawberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line an 8×8″ pan with parchment paper and grease with cooking spray or butter.

In a large saucepan, melt butter on medium heat and continue to cook, swirly the pan often, until butter gives off a nutty scent and is golden brown.  Remove from pan to a large bowl, and let cool.

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

Once cooled, add the brown sugar to the butter, and stir until combined.  Stir in egg and vanilla, and mix until combined.  Fold in flour mixture, then chocolate.  Transfer to prepared pan, and arrange strawberries, cut-side down, on top and press down gently.

Bake 30 minutes, or until edges are golden and center is set.  Remove from oven, and let cool on a wire rack before removing from pan.  Cut in squares.

I can’t imagine these guys will be around long–they are too good–but you can store at room temperature in a container for a few days if needed.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Browned Butter Dark Chocolate Strawberry Blondies

  1. Congrats on doing you! I’ve been thinking of a personal career change too but understand the fear in leaving something familiar and stable. I’m in awe of your bravery and happy to see the bolg posts return to my inbox 🙂

Leave a Reply

